Malaysia is a divided country; Western Malaysia occupies the southern part of the Malay Peninsula and is bordered by the Strait of Malacca to the west, the South China Sea to the east, and the Johore Strait separates it from Singapore. East Malaysia (or Malaysian Borneo) is located in the northern part of the island of Borneo. It shares the island with Kalimantan, the Indonesian part of Borneo. Malaysian Borneo features coastlines on the South China Sea, the Sulu Sea and the Celebes Sea.

Malaysia’s population is a mix of three major ethnic groups, each with its own heritage, culture and tradition. 60% of the population are Bumiputera, a term that describes the traditional inhabitants of the country and includes Malays, Orang Asli and other indigenous peoples. Minorities are Chinese, about 20%, and Indians (6%). Malaysia has more than 130 living languages; the official language is Bahasa Malaysia (Melayu).

The Petronas Twin Towers in Kuala Lumpur, the 88-floor building is the 21st-century icon for Malaysia.
Mosques, the country is home to several Muslim places of worship that are prominent landmarks. Famous examples are the Masjid Jamek Mosque and the National Mosque of Malaysia in Kuala Lumpur, the Iron Mosque and the pink Putra Mosque in Putrajaya, the futuristic Cyberjaya Mosque in Selangor, and the state mosque of Selangor, the Blue Mosque in Shah Alam.


Free Counselling